Switzerland gets bronze medals and goes to The World Games – 11.12.2016

In the bronze medal game Czech Republic faced Switzerland. In an exciting showdown the Swiss team earned a 8-5 (3-2, 2-1, 3-2) win.

Team Switzerland had good two periods in their semi-final battle against Sweden. They conceded five goals in the third period and lost the game 2 to 7. Czech Republic had a very hard game versus Finland, where the Finns achieved a win with only one goal difference. As for the bronze medal game, not even a minute was played when each team scored their first goal. Firstly Jiri Curney opened the score for Czech Republic but only 2 seconds later Christoph Meier scored after successful face-off. Just few moments later, Tom Ondrusek was left in a good position and restored Czech Republic´s lead. Nati had many attempts in the 1st period and so they managed to score an equalizer goal. Moreover when there was 12 minutes played, Christoph Camenisch made it 3-2 for Switzerland. That was very intensive game from each team in the 1st period.

Switzerland opened the second period having a power-play. The Czechs killed it and then took the initiative. In the middle of the period, the Swiss team had another power-play but Czech got to score the goal in fast counter attack. Pascal Meier and Tomas Kafka made some great saves in this high-speed game. Later in the second period, Kafka had no chance to stop Manuel Maurer´s strike from a good spot. That was not enough for Switzerland and they managed to score another one.   

Switzerland chased to play more defensive style in the third period. They had a couple of fast breaks but the Czech goalie stopped them. When there was 7 minutes played in the period, Martin Tokos was at the right Place at the right time. In the middle of the 3rd period, Manuel Maurer restored two goal lead for his team. Later in the period, the Czech Republic had a power-play chance and had only one goal deficit again but the Swiss players did not let the Czechs tie this game. Switzerland won this game 8 to 5 and won their sixth bronze medal at the World Championships. Now we already know all six nations who will participate at The World Games in Wroclaw:
  • Sweden (as a medalist)
  • Finland (as a medalist)
  • Switzerland (as a medalist)
  • Czech Republic (as the best neighbor)
  • Poland (as host)
  • USA (as the best non-European team)